Script Tip: Improve Plot and Character Fast – Explore A Character’s Junk Drawer

improve-plotWe all think we know our characters.  And maybe we do.  But a much more important question is: Does your audience?

Sure, we want to elaborate for pages about every personality trait and likable aspect of our characters.  But we can’t and don’t.  instead, the best ways to relate a character with the audience is through action and history.

I love playing with the junk drawer exercise before I start a script.  Actually, I have so much junk of my own, I normally grab a few random items and see what can work for my characters.

Check out this article and Neatniks beware!

Leave a Reply

